Inner Header

KVH Board member Stan Honey, Rolex Yachtsman of the Year!

by Chris Watson on January 21, 2011


Stan Honey, KVH Board of Directors, 2010 Rolex Yachtsman of the YearCongratulations to Stan Honey, longtime member of KVH's Board of Directors, who was recently named the 2010 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year. Reading the announcement, it's no wonder the members of the selection panel chose him for this year's honor. Among his recent sailing career highlights, Stan:

  • was the winning navigator aboard 2006 Volvo Ocean Race champion ABN Amro One
  • served as navigator aboard Groupama 3, which set the world record for fastest non-stop circumnavigation under sail -- a mere 48 days, seven hours and 45 minutes (take that, Phileas Fogg!)
  • was the winning navigator aboard Newport-to-Bermuda Race winner Speedboat

Stan has been a member of the KVH family for years, generously sharing his expertise and guidance with regard to navigation, satellite technology, and applications for fiber optic gyro technology. As a co-founder of SportVision, his firm was also among the first to use KVH's fiber optic gyros to stabilize camera images when projecting the now ubiquitous yellow first-down line for televised football games. Apparently Stan's pretty good at helping companies like KVH navigate to victory as well.

Well done, Stan, and congratulations from all of your friends here at KVH!

Stan Honey, KVH Board of Directors, 2010 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year


No Comments.


Indicates a required field
E-mail this page
Indicates a required field
Please enter a Valid E-mail Address
Please enter Comments
[X] Close

Oops! You must be logged in to access this information.

Please log in or create an account to receive access to complete information about KVH’s award-winning products and services, including quick and easy downloads of KVH support documentation. It's free and easy and gives you access to the latest info on all of KVH's products.